By using this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more by reading our Privacy Policy


About the Award

The Wachtmeister Award is endowed by VCCA Fellow and Board member Linda Wachtmeister and administered by the VCCA Fellows Council. It is presented every two years in rotation to a prominent writer, visual artist, or composer whose significant achievement in the arts is widely recognized. A list of previous award recipients is provided below.

This award acknowledges the vital role of the arts in our world, the importance of artists who exemplify excellence in their field, and the necessity of time and space for the creative phase of all artistic work.

The award includes:

  • a fully-funded fellowship of up to 30 days at VCCA’s Mt. San Angelo in Amherst, VA
  • an honorarium of $1,000
  • reimbursed travel expenses of up to $750

A VCCA residency includes an individual studio, a private bedroom, and meals in a community of over 20 professional writers, visual artists, and composers.

Applicants must not have had a previous residency at VCCA.

International artists are eligible. VCCA encourages artists of all backgrounds to apply.


2021 Wachtmeister Award

Thank you to everyone who applied to the 2021 Wachtmeister Award! The application deadline was Sept. 15, 2020. We look forward to announcing the recipient, whose residency will be scheduled between July 1, 2021 and January 31, 2023.

The 2021 award will be given to a visual artist working in any discipline or in a cross-disciplinary way. Eligible applicants have not had a previous residency at VCCA and have worked professionally as a visual artist for the past 15 years with substantial national or international achievement in their field, including grants, awards, performances/installations, etc.

Previous Wachtmeister Award Recipients

2019: Robert Normandeau, composer

2017: Emily Rapp Black, writer

2015: Anne Ferrer, visual artist

2013: Debra Marquart, writer

2011*: James McGarrell, visual artist

2008*: Kia Corthron, writer

2006*: Anna Weesner, composer

2005*: Thomas Roma, visual artist

2004*: Ha Jin, writer


* The award was originally called the “VCCA Award for Excellence in the Arts.” It was renamed the “Wachtmeister Award” in 2013.