Unesco-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists Programme

An Opportunity for Latin American, Caribbean
and African Composers



           Luis Hilario Arévalo, 2010 UNESCO Recipient


Luis Hilario Arévalo, 2010 UNESCO recipient


VCCA in partnership with the UNESCO-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists Programme offers a fully supported residency for a young composer from Latin America, the Caribbean or Africa.  The bursaries are co-financed by UNESCO-Aschberg and VCCA.  Please visit the UNESCO-Aschberg website for more details about the program.

Discipline: Music composition

Origin of candidates: Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa

Language: English

Age: 25 to 35 years

Deadline for application: October 31, 2014

Working/Living Conditions

The laureate will be provided with a private studio with a piano, a private bedroom and shared bath, and three prepared meals each day in this community of 25 professional composers, artists and writers. There is internet access.

Nature of Bursary

Roundtrip airfare is provided at the lowest price available for dates corresponding to the residency, along with board and lodging for the length of the residency. The residency offers the laureate an opportunity to pursue his or her own creative work without distraction in a pastoral residential setting. The laureate must provide his or her own health insurance and provide to VCCA a copy of the insurance contract.

Dates of Residency

September 1 - October 19, 2015


Composers of demonstrated ability and commitment, between the ages of 25 and 35, currently living in Latin America, the Caribbean or Africa.  Working knowledge of English is required.

Please note that artists who have participated in this program in the past are not eligible.  The UNESCO-Aschberg Bursaries for Artists fellowship is granted only once to an artist.

Click Here for Application