Fellows Council

Created in 1999 as an advisory group, the Fellows Council serves as a point of communication between Fellows and the VCCA board and administration, advising the board regarding matters of vital importance to Fellows in residence, including renovation of the physical plant, outreach for the highest quality artists and diverse populations, residency fees and fundraising. It also administers the VCCA Award for Excellence in the Arts, awarded each year to a non-Fellow whose achievement in the arts is universally acknowledged. The award rotates between a writer, a visual artist and a composer. The Council is composed of 10 to 12 Fellows working in a variety of disciplines. Members serve four-year terms. 


Current Fellows Council members:

Executive Committee: 

Holen Sabrina Kahn, visual artist/filmmaker - Inverness, CA, Lead Liaison

Amie Oliver, visual artist - Richmond, VA

Christopher Preissing, composer/sound artist - Chicago, IL


Ami Sands Brodoff, writer - Montreal, Canada, International Fellows Rep

Christina Chiu, writer - New York, NY

Edgar Endress, visual artist - St. Augustine, FL

Rone Shavers, writer - Albany, NY

Judith Shatin, composer - Charlottesville, VA

Tanja Softic, visual artist - Richmond, VA

Suzy Sureck, visual artist - Gardiner, NY

Evan Williams, composer - Bennington, VT

Lex Williford, writer - El Paso, TX